RSS

Day 17. Quality. Quantity. Crap.

11 Mar

I told myself I’d write every day on the subject of exercising. It’s a bit confining. I have 15 minutes to scratch off some pithy comment on how I felt about watching a man encourage me to lift horrible weight things for an hour straight, just as he did yesterday and the day before. I’ve switched it up to a bit of dieting and the ability to wake up, but that’s not the scope I had originally intended when I set out with this.

I’m going to keep to this daily journal format, but what these come down to isn’t the diet, the ability to wake up or even the exercise. They come down to the little tests that make up the day. Do I eat that snack or do I resist? Do I waste time watching TV or do I write? Do I lay around in bed or do I jump up and start the day? Exercise is just the main lens those tests are coming in right now. There’s very little difference between something that’s easy and laziness. The moment it gets hard is the moment things get interesting and any growth can happen.

The difficulty of painting, or writing, of starting a business, polishing a website, or putting out a show all crystalize in their purest form with exercise. The difficulty is in growth, and pushing it further each time. Exercise asks nothing more than can you weigh less and grow more muscles? It’s a single factor. It’s a place to start.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment