RSS

Day 21. There’s no good excuse for missing a day

16 Mar


I’ve got it pretty good. I don’t need to get into work until 10AM, and I can leave as early as I want as long as the job gets done. That means I have the flexibility to work out in the morning or at night depending on how my  mood strikes. Even when I go out at night, there’s almost always a two hour window.

This last weekend, I realized it won’t always be that way, and I’ll have to figure out ways around it.

I worked as a camp counselor for all of Shabbat (see video above) and while I worked out on Friday before leaving, and Sunday after coming back, Saturday I couldn’t. It was the first day I missed since starting. I was with campers the entire day, electricity wasn’t allowed, and there wasn’t a place of privacy to do it even if it was. When I’m traveling I could face a similar situation.

There was a two hour block of free time on Shabbat, and while it wouldn’t have been simple I could have used that time. That’s how it’s going to be when I get into teaching next week. On the days where I don’t get to the next city until 11PM, just skipping like I did this weekend isn’t an option. There’s a one and a half hour break for lunch every day. I have no plans of slipping.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment